Starting CrossFit…again.

August marks my 2 year anniversary with CrossFit. In the past 2 years I have accomplished more than I ever imagined.  First a foremost, I WORK OUT. To anyone that knew me in college, this is a miracle of its own. Beyond working out, I can do a pull up, muscle up, lift over my BW, and I now own an affiliate, Reckless CrossFit.

To say I had a slow start with CrossFit would be an understatement. I was the girl that didn’t want to run, didn’t want to go outside if it was cold, and would cringe at the thought of having a tear or callouses on my hands. After a few months I got into the swing of things and started CrossFitting 6x a week religiously. I was definitely getting better, faster, and stronger, but soon hit a plateau. Now I’m not placing blame entirely on the programming from the gym I was going to at the time, but I think it had a lot to do with my very slow strength gains.

Fast forward a year and welcome into the world Reckless CrossFit. Also welcome into the world CrossBritt. After leaving the gym I had been going to, Josh and I started doing our own programming and found we were both making strength gains MUCH faster than we were before. We both took on paleo, and were fully submerged in the “CrossFit lifestyle”. It’s all we do now. Eat, Sleep, Coach, Workout, Repeat. It’s what we love and I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

This year I decided to try my hand at participating in The CrossFit Games Open 2012. It was the best shape I had EVER been in. I was working with a Coach on programming, doing strict paleo, fasting, and I felt amazing. My strength numbers were increasing (I was crushing PR’s) and my metcons didn’t make me want to die. I did decent, placing 135th in the North Central Region. Once The Open was over, so was my dedicated training. I’ve had weeks on, weeks off, vacations, excuses, etc. getting in my way since then. Not anymore. I need to get back on the grind. 

After witnessing The CrossFit Games 2012 in person, I have realized that nobody is a badass besides these athletes competing here. You might rule at your box, but you’re not shit compared to The Games athletes. Now I’m not saying I’m games-bound by any means. And at this point, that’s not my goal, but I do want to become a better CrossFitter. I want to get stronger, faster, leaner, better. I want to be able to crush it at competitions. Monday marks a new regimen and a new take on CrossFit. No more excuses, no more shit food, no more being a baby during WODs. I am strong, I am capable, and I’m ready to DO WORK. I’m making top 100 in this years Open. I’m going to increase all my lifts by at least 10#. I’m going to PR the shit out of my old benchmarks. I’m going to be an ATHLETE.

Leave a comment